• inner-page-banner

About Us

Home/ About Us/ About Us

This Commission known as 'The Commission for Other Backward Classes of the National capital Territory of Delhi', was constituted by the Lt. Governor of the National Capital Territory of Delhi vide Notification No. F.28(93)/91-92/SC/ST/P&S/109 dated 20.04.1993 as a permanent body in compliance with the directions of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India contained in its Judgment dated the 16th November, 1992 in the W.P. (Civil) no.930 of 1990 (Indira Sawhney and Ors. Vs. Union of India and Ors.) for the purpose of entertaining, examining and recommending upon requests for inclusion and complaints of over-inclusion and under-inclusion in the lists of Other Backward Classes of Citizens.

The Commission consists of five persons as under:

  • A Chairperson, who has been a judge of a high court or a retired or serving civil servant or A prominent Public figure.
  • Chairperson, Delhi Social Welfare Advisory Board (Member-Ex-Officio).
  • Two non-official Members, who have special knowledge in matters relating to backward classes, to be nominated by the Government.
  • Member-Secretary of the Commission.